La Maison des Géants

Rue de Pintamont, nr. 18
7800, Ath
+32 (0) 68 26.51.70 www.maisondesgeants.be French Prix standard adulte € Add to Cart 
Commercial Descriptions

Figures of giants were first used in Ath in the 15th century to celebrate the consecration of the church of Saint-Julien. At that time widespread in Europe, the giants performed in religious processions so as to give religious instruction to a largely illiterate population. Nowadays, the Ducasse parade in Ath is listed as UNESCO Intangible Cultural Heritage and is an exuberant combination of worldly and religious elements. In line with tradition, the Ath giants (Goliath, David, Melle Victoire, the horse Bayard…) are still carried on men’s backs rather than transported on mobile platforms, even though they each weigh over 100 kilograms!

The Maison des Géants is the only museum specifically dedicated to giants in Belgium and France, and also serves as Ath’s tourist office and as a centre for study and research on popular traditions concerning large human and animal figures. The exhibition explains the history and techniques used to make and carry the giants. You will see the frame of a giant and even get the chance to try to carry it! In addition, you will discover the history and atmosphere of this beautifully renovated city (historic spots, shopping streets, mediaeval Burbant tower, Gallo-Roman Museum) following the Circuit des Lumières along the former course of the Dendre river.

ACTIVITIES: La Ducasse d’Ath (4th weekend of August).

FOR CHILDREN: Randofamili audio-guided walk (www.randofamili.com) starting at the Maison des Géants.

Photos
Videos
Choose Distance
Hide Map
Les horaires
Open throughout the year from Tuesday to Friday from 10 am to 5 pm (to 6 pm from June 1st to September 30th) and on weekends and public holidays from 2 pm to 6 pm. Closed from Christmas Day to New Year’s Day. Closed on Sunday in December and January.

La Maison des Géants

Rue de Pintamont, nr. 18
7800, Ath
+32 (0) 68 26.51.70 www.maisondesgeants.be Français Prix standard adulte 6.00€ Ajouter au panier 
En quelques mots

A Ath, les géants apparaissent dès le XVe siècle pour célébrer la consécration de l’église Saint-Julien. Alors très répandus en Europe, les géants défilaient lors de processions religieuses et avaient pour but de catéchiser une population largement analphabète. De nos jours, le cortège de la Ducasse d’Ath qui est reconnue au patrimoine de l’UNESCO, mêle allégrement profane et religieux. Suivant la tradition, les géants athois (Goliath, David, Melle Victoire, le cheval Bayard…) y sont toujours portés à dos d’homme, plutôt que transportés sur des chars à roues. Il faut savoir qu’un géant pèse plus de 100 kilos !

Seul musée spécifiquement dédié aux géants du Nord, la Maison des géants est également l’office de tourisme de la ville et un centre d’études et de recherches autour des traditions populaires liées aux figures humaines et animales de grande taille. Un parcours-spectacle retrace l’histoire et les techniques de fabrication et de portage des géants. Vous passerez sous les jupes d’un géant et aurez même l’occasion de vous aventurer à les porter ! Partez ensuite à la découverte de l’histoire et des ambiances de cette ville agréablement rénovée (rues anciennes et commerçantes, Tour médiévale Burbant, Espace gallo-romain) en suivant le Circuit des lumières qui emprunte l’ancien tracé de la rivière Dendre.

RENDEZ-VOUS : La Ducasse d’Ath (4e week-end d’août).

POUR LES ENFANTS : Parcours à vivre en famille et balade audioguidée Randofamili (www.randofamili.com) au départ de la Maison des géants.

Photos
Videos
Choisissez Distance
Hide Map
Les horaires
Ouvert toute l'année, du mardi au vendredi, de 10h à 17h (à 18h du 1er juin au 30 septembre). Les week-ends et jours fériés de 14h à 18h. Fermé entre Noël et Nouvel an. Fermé les dimanches en décembre et janvier.