The Cities of Art

Discover the gems of Hainaut’s architecture.

Do you enjoy strolling in the shade of sumptuous listed façades? Touring buildings with an exceptional past and finding out their history? When architecture makes a district, a city, sublime, nobody’s left indifferent. With guides from the Tourist Offices or alone, set off to explore the Cities of Art of Hainaut.

MONS

Take your seat at one of the outdoor cafés on the Grand-Place of Mons, and admire its richly detailed architecture. The city hall is worth a detour by itself. Climb to the top of the Belfry, and you’ll discover the roofs of Old Mons as they blend with the rural slagheap landscape of the Borinage. As you stand at the foot of the Sainte-Waudru collegiate church, dozens of gargoyles watch you. The city centre is entirely paved in the manner of Flemish towns. Mons is the cultural capital of Wallonia! And while the exceptional range at Mons’s museums is impressive, the architecture of the city of the Doudou is all the more so.

TOURNAI

Discover a thousand-year-old city shaped by the numerous architectural currents that have dominated the eras. Tournai offers us a range that extends from the Roman and Gothic styles to Art Nouveau, from the classicism desire by Louis XIV to the very specific style that characterises post-war Tournai. Don’t miss Notre-Dame Cathedral and the Belfry, both listed by UNESCO, the fortresses of the town that still exist here and there. In Tournai façades, architecture lovers will read the Baroque, Italian, Flemish influences that have guided the construction of these buildings: square and imposing buildings, façades with crenellated gables... Tournai has plenty of surprises in store for enthusiasts of the genre!

CHARLEROI

Lose yourself in Charleroi, exploring an era where wealth was displayed on mansion walls. Raise your eyes and discover the listed Art Nouveau residences crafted last century by renowned architects inspired by Paul Hankart and his contemporaries. Enthusiasts will admire the numerous graffiti, so many jewels of Carolo architecture. Stroll beneath the impressive glasswork of the Passage de la Bourse... Visit the Tourist Office to find out the next guided “Art Nouveau” tour.

LA LOUVIERE

La Louvière is a fairly young town. It was built essentially in the 19th and 20th centuries, at a time when flourishing industrial activity made the fortunes of the Hainaut middle classes. All of the town’s arteries comprise impressive mansions. Modernism inspired numerous buildings in the town centre: the town hall, the old swimming pool and its fresco designed by Taf Wallet, its old renovated theatre will convince you of this.

Les Villes d'art du Hainaut

Découvrez les fleurons de l'architecture du Hainaut.

Vous aimez flâner à l’ombre de somptueuses façades classées ? Visiter des bâtiments au passé exceptionnel et connaître leur histoire ? Quand l’architecture sublime un quartier, une ville, cela laisse difficilement indifférent. Avec des guides des Offices du Tourisme ou seul, partez à la découverte des Villes d’Art du Hainaut.

MONS 

Installez-vous à l’une des terrasses de la Grand-Place de Mons, et admirez la richesse des détails de son architecture. L’hôtel de ville à lui seul vaut le détour. Grimpez en haut du Beffroi, vous découvrirez les toitures du vieux-Mons qui se marient au paysage de campagne de terrils du borinage. Au pied de la collégiale Sainte-Waudru, des dizaines de gargouilles vous observent. Le centre-ville est entièrement pavé à la manière des villes flamandes. Mons est la capitale culturelle de la Wallonie ! Et si l’offre exceptionnelle du pôle muséal montois impressionne, l’architecture de la cité du Doudou y est pour beaucoup. 

TOURNAI


Découvrez une ville millénaire marquées par les nombreux courants architecturaux qui ont dominé les époques. Tournai nous offre une palette qui va du style roman, gothique à l'Art nouveau, du classicisme voulu par Louis XIV au style si particulier qui caractérise le Tournai de l’après-guerre. Ne ratez pas la Cathédrale Notre-Dame, le Beffroi de la Grand-Place classé par l’UNESCO, les forteresses de la ville encore présente ça et là. Les amateurs d’architecture parviendront à lire dans les façades tournaisiennes les influences baroques, italiennes, flamandes qui ont guidés l’édification de ces bâtiments : bâtiments carrés et imposants, façades aux pignons pointus en escaliers,… Tournai réserve de nombreuses surprises aux amateurs du genre !

CHARLEROI


Perdez-vous dans Charleroi, à la découverte d’une époque où la richesse s’affichait sur les murs des maisons de maître. Levez les yeux et découvrez des demeures art-nouveau classées exécutées au siècle dernier par des architectes de renom inspirés de Paul Hankart et de ses contemporains. Les amateurs admireront les nombreux sgraffites, autant de joyeux de l’architecture carolo. Promenez-vous sous l’impressionnante verrière du passage de la bourse… Rendez-vous à l’office du tourisme pour connaitre la prochaine visite guidée « Art Nouveau ».

LA LOUVIERE


La Louvière est une ville assez jeune. Elle s’est bâtie essentiellement au XIXe et XXe siècle, à une époque où l’activité industrielle florissante faisait les affaires de la bourgeoisie hainuyère. Toutes les artères de l’entité comptent des maisons de maître impressionnantes. Le modernisme a inspiré de nombreux bâtiments du centre-ville : l’hôtel de ville, l’ex-piscine et sa fresque signée Taf Wallet, le théâtre,…