Coal mine site of Bois-du-Luc

Saint-Patrice, nr. 2b
7110, Houdeng-Aimeries
+32 (0) 64 28.20.00 www.boisduluc.com French Add to Cart 
Commercial Descriptions

Inscribed on the World Heritage List of UNESCO, the Bois-du-Luc mine site is an exceptional testimony of the industrial era. Exceptional in the integrity and authenticity of its historic heritage, eloquent illustration of the impact of industrialization at different levels: technical, landscape, architectural and social.

When the colliery director stepped outside onto the balcony of his company villa, the whole of the colliery site lay below him at his feet. To the left were the pit buildings, to the right the area containing the offices and workshops, and directly in front of him was the central axis running through the colliers´ village. This had been built especially for the purpose and contained everything the workers needed: a church, a hospital, schools, shops, a home for old people, a community centre, even a small park with a bandstand. Not forgetting, of course, the houses themselves. All this gave the company the advantage of being able to keep all the workers together - under control. In this way the company was also able to dictate the social rules, from the patterns of work to the leisure activities.

The history of the St Emanuel model colliery really began long before it came into existence. In 1685 the "Societé du Bois-du-Luc" was founded here. At first, the aim of this commercial company, which brought together mining know-how and money, was to find a technical solution to prevent the mines from flooding. Up until the middle of the 19th century the company bought up several different collieries in the area, by which time it was one of the most important mining companies in Belgium. The most beautiful pit of all, "St Emanuel", went into operation in 1846, at a time when work on constructing the neighbouring housing settlement had already begun.

The colliery site was closed down in 1959 and 20 years later the "Societé du Bois-du-Luc" became a thing of the past. People are still living in the colliery settlement; indeed they were the first to demand that the historic buildings be preserved. Now the pithead site has been thoroughly restored and houses the "Ecomusée du Bois-du-Luc" aims to record everything the architecture, the landscape and the inhabitants of the central Belgian area of "Le Centre" have to tell about the history of the coal period. The Museum expressly desires the participation of the local population. The best example of this is a tour of the St Emanuel colliery.

Since 1983 visitors have been allowed inside this microcosm, thanks to the “Ecomusée du Bois-du-Luc”. The round tour of the museum entitled "Between Men and Machines" gives a vivid picture of the strict hierarchy at the pit and the close intermeshing of the various working processes. Visitors can experience a typical day in the life of a collier, enter the director´s office (once the brain centre of the colliery), go inside the colliery workshops and watch the craftsmen at work, before taking a look inside a typical worker’s house from the start of the 20th century.

Practical information

Opening hours:

Closed on mondays

Be careful during the weekends: departure of guided-tours at 10am, 11 am, 1.30 pm, 3 pm, 4 pm

During the weeks : at 9 am,10am, 11 am, 1.30 pm, 3 pm

16th April to 31th October:

Tuesday - Friday 9am-5pm

Saturday, Sunday 10am-6pm

Entrance tickets prices:

Individual rate

Adults : 10 € - Seniors : 9 € - Kids : 7 €

Group rate

Adults : 9 € - Seniors : 7 € - Kids/schools : 6 €

Family pass (2 parents + 1, 2 ou 3 kids) : 16 €

Photos
Videos
Choose Distance
Hide Map